Why Dating is Like Finding Your Missing Sock

Posted: 12/29/2010 by Singlefied in Dating
Tags: , , , ,

While doing laundry at my parents’ house during the holidays, I realized I was a missing a sock.  My dad thought it was funny because he had “lost” a sock in the dryer just the day before.  Isn’t it weird that you always hear about people losing a sock while doing their laundry?

Then I thought…how do I know that I only lost a sock?  The only reason why I noticed it was missing was because I had a sock without its mate.  I could’ve lost a lot more valuable articles of clothing in the laundry but here I am, stressing over a missing old sock.  I’m frustrated because the other sock is now obsolete.  Do I throw it out or wait for the missing mate to show up one day?

Dating to me is like finding your missing sock.  Pretty girls can come and go in your life, but it’s the ones who make the best teammates are the ones worth keeping.  How do you know if you’ve met your missing sock?  You won’t know until you lose it first.  We all have this habit of taking people for granted but it’s in the absence of that person is when we realize their value to us.   Maybe you don’t see each other for a longer amount of time, or she goes away, you go away, or you guys stop seeing each other.  In that time, you’ll see if she truly is your missing sock or just another pretty panty lost in the wash that you don’t even miss.

Comments
  1. Datingisms says:

    […] girls can come and go in your life, but it’s the ones who make the best teammates are the ones worth keeping.   LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

