Shiny Object Syndrome

Posted: 12/07/2010 by Singlefied in Dating
Tags: , ,

When I went to Berkeley, my girlfriends and I would always go to this bar Henry’s on Tuesdays because they had a 2 for 1 special.  Every week, the same guy would hit on my friend Kim and every week she’d reject him.  I always thought he was cute.  One Tuesday, Kim was out of town but we held up our Henry’s tradition.  This time, the same guy came up to me and asked, “Are you a transfer?  I’ve never seen you here before” and proceeded to engage in a conversation with me.  At first, I thought it was a joke until I realized the fact that he had never noticed me in the presence of my friend Kim.

The thing is, this guy obviously was more drawn to my friend Kim than me but in the absence of her, he saw me in a new light (and I became a shinier object).  And I would’ve totally gone for him, if I didn’t know I was 1st runner-up.

What’s my point?  Next time you walk into a bar full of girls, think twice before you focus all your attention on the shiniest object in the room.  Assess the room thoroughly and pick a couple targets who you may not have noticed right away.

Comments
  1. […] nature and simple mind, you’re drawn to whatever’s in front of you that feed into your shiny object syndrome.  For us on the other hand, we notice your face and only your face.  And it’s not just […]

  2. […] 2) Choose your target…fast! Scope out the room right away and find the girl you’re most interested in.  This is not a night for evaluating personalities.  It really doesn’t matter if she sucks.  This is the night to embrace your Shiny Object Syndrome. […]

  3. Datingisms says:

    […] the room thoroughly and pick a couple targets who you may not have noticed right away.   LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

